Lets talk media - READ ONLY

60 messages,  Last post on Sep 16, 2007 at 11:59 AM

You are in the Automotive News & Views-Archives Forum.

What is this discussion about? Automotive News

#59 of 60 Fake Reviews by iberian_frency

Sep 16, 2007 (7:10 am)

Replying to: carguy58 (Jul 11, 2007 6:45 am)
I was just on Dealtime.com and they had glowing reviews for edmunds.com, but they were all fake. If you check out the reviews for the different web sites, such as edmunds.com and cars.com you will find the same email addresses submitted with slightly different positive views. If edmunds.com is paying these guys money they've been had.

#60 of 60 Re: Fake Reviews [iberian_frency] by steve_ HOST

Sep 16, 2007 (11:59 am)

Replying to: iberian_frency (Sep 16, 2007 7:10 am)
Looks like only one person reviewing Edmunds reviewed cars.com. I don't see any email addresses for the reviewers, just their profiles, so I'm not sure how you are figuring out that people share email addresses.
 
I do see that most of the Edmunds reviews are in fact glowing while only about 4 of the 12 Cars.com reviews are 4 or 5 star.
 
Cars.com is owned by a bunch of newspapers. The car reviews you see in the classified sections are often entirely positive, and are obviously written by PR people working for the auto manufacturers.

Advertisement

Browse by Category

Browse by Vehicle
   View All Vehicles

Browse by Board
Browse by Topic
View All Topics

Edmunds Community

Advertisement