Sign In Join 



High Performance Luxury Sedans

1038 messages,  Last post on Jun 18, 2008 at 12:12 PM

You are in the Sedans Forum. Your Hosts are pat & karens

What is this discussion about? Jaguar XJR, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, BMW M5, Mercedes-Benz E55 AMG, Audi S6, Maserati Quattroporte, Audi S8, Sedan


Messages Page 99 of 105
1
...
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
...
105
Prev
Next
Last
Go To Msg #
Search This Discussion

#972 of 1038
um by dhanley
Feb 06, 2006 (12:41 pm)
Reply
You ought to look up internet scams.
#973 of 1038
Re: um [dhanley] by habitat1
Feb 07, 2006 (5:40 am)
Reply

Replying to: dhanley (Feb 06, 2006 12:41 pm)

Agreed.
 
And I think the guy with the $10,000 E500 also has $12 million locked up in a bank in Nigeria and just needs you to help him get it expatriated.
#975 of 1038
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? by dkbeck
Mar 08, 2006 (6:10 pm)
Reply

Replying to: smcpherson (Feb 06, 2006 8:16 am)

I saw your email questioning the legitimacy of an E500 offered for $10000 by a guy from Ireland. I exchanged email with a guy from Ireland about a 2001 Audi S4 for $12,000 that was also to be delivered through Blue Stars Shipping. I found the website for Blue Stars Shipping and exchanged email with them. They say they have the car in a container in a warehouse. I am suspicious. Did you pursue the deal for the E500?
 
Car ad: http://regina.kijiji.ca/c-ViewAd-W0QQAdIdZ2836906
Blue Stars: http://bluestars-shipping.com/index.htm
 
The website looks phony to me. And this guy's email says his "sister is in hospital and she is very seek"
 
Thanks
#976 of 1038
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? [dkbeck] by pat HOST
Mar 09, 2006 (3:19 am)
Reply

Replying to: dkbeck (Mar 08, 2006 6:10 pm)

There's an escrow link on the home page of the shipping site that is interesting. Among other things, it says the company is based in California. On another page, they give a New York and a Canadian address. You could check with the BBBs in California and New York.
 
You are right to be extremely suspicious and cautious.
#977 of 1038
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? [pat] by blckislandguy
Mar 12, 2006 (10:17 am)
Reply

Replying to: pat (Mar 09, 2006 3:19 am)

The Blue Star web site is really a hoot. The site has many mispelled words ("seafright", "airfright"), grammatical tip offs ("...based in USA, California.."), none of the trailer trucks shown are American spec Class 8 rigs (gee, aren't they a California based firm?), none have Blue Star's name on them, and in addition to the previously noted California, NY, and Canadian addresses, they seem headquartered in Spain.
 
Don't even bother with the BBB. This is just two grad students in Penang having some fun with the rich Americans.
#978 of 1038
Re: 400 HP VS. 500 ? [mpierce222] by bpm69
Mar 19, 2006 (7:42 pm)
Reply

Replying to: mpierce222 (Dec 31, 2005 11:11 am)

I have the last M5. So I test drove the new one(the sales manager gave me a hard time about it). I expected to love it and be done. But I didn't like the SMG. It was really lurchy on upshifts unless I let off the throttle. Also I found myself looking to see what gear I was in without a hand on the stick I would have in a manual. And the Idrive was better than the one in the 750 but still annoying. So I went and tried the 997 C4S and the cayman(only 2 seater so not the same). I think I enjoyed the C4S more. I've always been a BMW fan but I don't even like the look of the new 5s. What am I missing?
#979 of 1038
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? [dkbeck] by www7
Mar 29, 2006 (4:06 pm)
Reply

Replying to: dkbeck (Mar 08, 2006 6:10 pm)

Difinitely a scam
 
here's another example...I was asking details about an BMW XI and this is the response...avoid
------------------
Hello,
I have to tell you in the first place that my car is like new, has 31,500 KM in perfect working condition, no scratches, no dents, never been abused, and it has clear title, manuals, the original documentation included, which will be delivered along with the car.
The car is registered in Canada. The car is safe and sound back to Canada at the shipping company
Right now I have some personal problems with my son`s health and I am in Ireland Dublin for a surgery on his heart. (I`m here because is the cheapest surgery I coud find)
If you want to buy it, I can ship you the car and I will pay for shipping, insurance and all the fees deducted from this sale, you will have 5 days testing period.
For more pictures with my car please visit this link
http://www.myonlineimages.com/public.aspx?memberid=19158
One more thing I'm a very serious and honest person that has some problems right now. I will appreciate if you were serious about this.
Everyone goes thru bad times in life, and I am no exception.
I need to do some extreme things in my life too in order to stay afloat.
Of course please tell me if you want to buy this car and if you have the money.
In order to start this deal, I will need:
1. Your full name and home address
2. Shipping address (street address, city, state, zip)
3. e-mail address
4. phone number
The car will be shiped by Blue Stars Shipping company.
If the car isn't like advertised, you can say that you don't buy it, and the car will be shipped back to me at my own expense and you will be completely refund. The agent from the shipping company will assist you in the registration process.
Please reply with the requested info and if you are really interested please let` move fast because time is a precious thing for me right now,
Thanks
Robert Tyler
#980 of 1038
Luxury Owners by KarenS HOST
Mar 31, 2006 (10:17 am)
Reply
A national newspaper is looking to interview consumers who have had to replace a car key, which ended up costing over $200 or $300. Please send an e-mail to ctalatiedmunds.com no later than Monday, April 2, 2006 containing your daytime contact information, the cost to replace your key along with the make and model your vehicle.
  
Thanks,
Chintan Talati
Corporate Communications
Edmunds.com
#981 of 1038
New M5 and S6 by esf
Apr 08, 2006 (10:37 am)
Reply
"And then there's the noise: a throaty roar through the midrange that switches over aggressively into a top-end shriek that gives the S6 an aural signature unlike any other German car.
Even though the BMW M5 also has a V10 (and even though it produces 507 horsepower), it doesn't sound quite this exciting."
 
That's astonishing- especially considering the S6 is more in-between the super sedan and sports sedan classes.
 
It also shows what a smart move it was for Audi to buy Lamborghini, which is now quite profitable.
 
That quote is from a Canadian website: http://www.thestar.com/NASApp/cs/ContentServer?pagename=thestar/Layout/Article_T- ype1&c=Article&cid=1144360211321&call_pageid=968867497088&col=969048871196
 
Can't wait for the RS6!

Messages Page 99 of 105
1
...
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
...
105
Prev
Next
Last
Go To Msg #
Search This Discussion
To POST a message, please Sign In.

New? Join Now!

Forum Tools

Please sign in.
Email Address:

Password:

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Enter Keyword(s)

Advanced Search

Browse by Vehicle



View All Vehicles
Advertisement
Ask the Community
See What People Are Asking

Browse by Board

Browse by Topic


View All Topics

Today's Chats

Advertisement