- #969 of 1038
-
Re: 400 HP VS. 500 ? [mpierce222]
by lovemyclk
-
Jan 04, 2006 (3:25 pm)
-
|
|
Replying to: mpierce222 (Dec 31, 2005 11:11 am)
Buddy of mine is a Porsche driving instructor and has had glowing reviews of the e60 M5 as the best-performing and best-balanced sedan he has driven. 3-Pedal in 2007
|
- #970 of 1038
-
Re: M5 Price [horsepower1]
by gujuplaya00
-
Jan 15, 2006 (2:05 pm)
-
|
|
Replying to: horsepower1 (Sep 09, 2004 4:40 pm)
so this scam that you are talking about tell his name and everything...and told you how the car is a e55 amg and he is in ireland for his son and he is only selling the car for 10 grand? Did he also tell you the shipping company is blue stars shipping? if so please let me know ASAP
thank priyesh
|
- #971 of 1038
-
Re: M5 Price [gujuplaya00]
by smcpherson
-
Feb 06, 2006 (8:16 am)
-
|
|
Replying to: gujuplaya00 (Jan 15, 2006 2:05 pm)
I just received a long email from the same guy it sounds... He is advertising a 2004 E500 (Benz) for $10,000 and says that he is in Ireland. I'm trying to contact Blue Stars to see if they even have the vehicle... but I can't seem to locate them... I still have the email from him. The name he uses is Paul Anastasiou... at least this time...
|
- #972 of 1038
-
um
by dhanley
-
Feb 06, 2006 (12:41 pm)
-
|
You ought to look up internet scams.
|
- #973 of 1038
-
Re: um [dhanley]
by habitat1
-
Feb 07, 2006 (5:40 am)
-
|
|
Replying to: dhanley (Feb 06, 2006 12:41 pm)
Agreed.
And I think the guy with the $10,000 E500 also has $12 million locked up in a bank in Nigeria and just needs you to help him get it expatriated.
|
- #975 of 1038
-
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam?
by dkbeck
-
Mar 08, 2006 (6:10 pm)
-
|
|
Replying to: smcpherson (Feb 06, 2006 8:16 am)
I saw your email questioning the legitimacy of an E500 offered for $10000 by a guy from Ireland. I exchanged email with a guy from Ireland about a 2001 Audi S4 for $12,000 that was also to be delivered through Blue Stars Shipping. I found the website for Blue Stars Shipping and exchanged email with them. They say they have the car in a container in a warehouse. I am suspicious. Did you pursue the deal for the E500?
Car ad: http://regina.kijiji.ca/c-ViewAd-W0QQAdIdZ2836906
Blue Stars: http://bluestars-shipping.com/index.htm
The website looks phony to me. And this guy's email says his "sister is in hospital and she is very seek"
Thanks
|
- #976 of 1038
-
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? [dkbeck]
by pat HOST
-
Mar 09, 2006 (3:19 am)
-
|
|
Replying to: dkbeck (Mar 08, 2006 6:10 pm)
There's an escrow link on the home page of the shipping site that is interesting. Among other things, it says the company is based in California. On another page, they give a New York and a Canadian address. You could check with the BBBs in California and New York.
You are right to be extremely suspicious and cautious.
|
- #977 of 1038
-
Re: Was the E500 offer a scam? [pat]
by blckislandguy
-
Mar 12, 2006 (10:17 am)
-
|
|
Replying to: pat (Mar 09, 2006 3:19 am)
The Blue Star web site is really a hoot. The site has many mispelled words ("seafright", "airfright"), grammatical tip offs ("...based in USA, California.."), none of the trailer trucks shown are American spec Class 8 rigs (gee, aren't they a California based firm?), none have Blue Star's name on them, and in addition to the previously noted California, NY, and Canadian addresses, they seem headquartered in Spain.
Don't even bother with the BBB. This is just two grad students in Penang having some fun with the rich Americans.
|
- #978 of 1038
-
Re: 400 HP VS. 500 ? [mpierce222]
by bpm69
-
Mar 19, 2006 (7:42 pm)
-
|
|
Replying to: mpierce222 (Dec 31, 2005 11:11 am)
I have the last M5. So I test drove the new one(the sales manager gave me a hard time about it). I expected to love it and be done. But I didn't like the SMG. It was really lurchy on upshifts unless I let off the throttle. Also I found myself looking to see what gear I was in without a hand on the stick I would have in a manual. And the Idrive was better than the one in the 750 but still annoying. So I went and tried the 997 C4S and the cayman(only 2 seater so not the same). I think I enjoyed the C4S more. I've always been a BMW fan but I don't even like the look of the new 5s. What am I missing?
|